

Transportation Group AGM Minutes

Date: March 25, 2025

Time: 12:00 PM - 12:38 PM

Location: Online (Microsoft Teams)

1. Welcome

Chair John Lieswyn opened the meeting and welcomed members to the 2025 Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Transportation Group. He noted the importance of the AGM in reflecting on the past year's activities and setting the course for the future.

2. Present – 38 attendees

- Mark Gregory
- John Lieswyn
- Aaron Isaacs
- Bruce Conaghan
- Jacques Steyn
- Justine Wilton
- Andrew Macbeth
- Anuradha Fitzwalter
- Karishma Kumar
- Don McKenzie
- Peter Cockrem
- Megan Gregory
- Lewis Thorwaldson
- Henri Van Zyl
- Jeanette Ward
- Chen, Liqi
- Errol Ritson
- Caron Greenough
- Bevan Wilmshurst
- Ben Dodgshun
- Tobie Pretorius
- Daniel Newcombe
- Simon James

- Victor Devyatov
- Zongli Bai
- Roger Boulter
- Sarah Dove
- Michael Town
- Harriet Henderson
- Stacey Canham
- Aini Fayaz Mansoor
- Steve Dejong
- Matthew Hoyle
- Craig Richards
- Sarah Connolly
- Karthik Aale
- Wong, May
- Kristina Michel
- Stephanie Willcox
- Gemma Dioni
- Yi Wang
- Nilesh Redekar
- Edwin Tay
- Andrew Macbeth
- Anthony Pearse
- Caitlin Oliver (Engineering New Zealand)

3. Apologies

- Melanie Murrison
- Ian Appleton
- Tony Brett

4. Minutes of Previous Meeting

The minutes from the previous AGM were reviewed and accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Bruce Conaghan **Seconded:** Mark Gregory

Outcome: Passed

5. Chair's Report

Chair John Lieswyn presented the annual report, summarising key activities and achievements over the past year. Collaboration with other transportation sector groups continued through the annual New Zealand Transportation Professional Group Leaders Hui, which facilitates knowledge-sharing and alignment on key issues.

Peter Cockrem was acknowledged for his service as he steps down from his role due to relocating overseas. Toby Pretorius and Erica Walker will take over the Central Branch (Wellington). Michael Town will join the committee in Canterbury, having previously served in Nelson. Jeanette Ward will take over as Canterbury Branch Chair.

Subgroup updates were shared, including NZMUGS, which recently published key research on the website. The Safety Practitioners Group met frequently throughout 2024 but has had fewer meetings in early 2025. No report was received in time from SNUG, but Matthew Hoyle provided a verbal update, highlighting updates to the national P43 standard, work on a design guidelines standard, and the successful completion of the annual workshop.

Engineering New Zealand was acknowledged for its ongoing support, including assistance with administrative functions and strategic forums.

A submission on speed limits was sent, with a draft made available for attendees. The group continues to develop evidence-based frameworks for national and local submissions.

6. Treasurer's Report

In the absence of Treasurer Melanie, the Treasurer's Report was presented, highlighting the financial standing of the Group. The Group remains in a strong financial position, though a small deficit was recorded due to the absence of conference revenue in 2025. However, financial recovery is expected in 2026 with the upcoming conference.

Moved: John Lieswyn Seconded: Glen Curry Outcome: Passed

7. Group Procedures: Proposed Changes

Proposed changes to group procedures were discussed and will be provided for consultation, including:

- **Section 3.1:** Membership approvals procedure clarifications (clarification still needed on how to proceed).
- Section 5.1C: Treasurer and Membership Secretary are officer roles.
- Section 5.1D: Including Sub-Group representation on national committee
- **Section 7.1:** Delete postal ballot and replace with electronic ballot. Voting taking place before the AGM
- Section 7.5: Candidates served at least one year on Branch committee or technical subgroup
- **Section 9.**2: Decisions of the national committee made during periodic meetings. Made by majority vote.
- Section 9.8: Establishing a quorum for AGMs being no less than 10 members

A poll will be circulated to members after the AGM for feedback and approval.

8. Transportation Group Conference 2026

Planning for the 2026 conference is progressing well, with Wellington selected as the host city. The event aims to attract a record attendance of 400 delegates up from the usual 180 to 220 delegates. NZTA has confirmed its sponsorship, ensuring strong local representation and attendance. A formal call for abstracts will be announced soon, and members were encouraged to submit their research and insights. The conference will be co-hosted with Trafinz.

9. Awards

Awards Coordinator Daniel Newcombe provided an update on the Group's awards programme. The Matrix Award, which is traditionally aligned with the conference, will not be awarded in 2025 and will instead be presented alongside the 2026 conference. Other awards, including the Top Student Award, Research Award, and Al Conference Sponsorship Award, will continue as scheduled throughout the year. Updates and results will be published in the Group's Roundabout newsletter.

10. Officers and National Committee Membership Changes

Incoming Chair Speech

Incoming Chair Mark Gregory expressed his gratitude for the opportunity to lead the Group over the next two years and thanked John Lieswyn for his dedication and leadership. He outlined his priorities, which include strengthening collaboration and increasing international engagement.

Newly Elected Vice Chair Speech

Vice Chair Justine Wilton thanked everyone who participated in the election and acknowledged Bruno for also stepping forward as a candidate. She emphasized the importance of encouraging diversity and knowledge-sharing within the Group.

11. General Business

Bruce Conaghan raised the topic of the Transportation Group's relationship with NZTA concerning the Traffic Control Devices Manual, noting that the issue had dropped off the radar and that NZTA currently has limited funding available. He suggested that Transportation Group is well-positioned to provide input into these updates. John Lieswyn confirmed he had reached out to NZTA to explore how the Group could best support this effort. SNUG and NZMUGS have both successfully reached out to international peers for guidance on updating standards, which could be a model for this work.

Caron Greenough noted difficulty accessing reports and highlighted that no report was received from the Trips Database Bureau (TDB). She provided an update on TDB's recent progress, including the launch of a new PowerBI database and the addition of several new surveys. Most new survey data comes from Australia, provided through Transport for NSW, with additional residential survey data from Queenstown. There is ongoing work in Australia, led by Sydney University, to build a larger database, which TDB may collaborate on in the future. Additionally, conversations have begun with the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) to explore further collaboration.

Don McKenzie expressed appreciation for the work of the National Committee and took a moment to acknowledge the passing of Peter McComb. Peter was the founding Chair of the Transportation Group and a key figure in the profession for over 50 years. He was recognized as a leader both in New Zealand and internationally, particularly in the fields of Intelligent Transport Systems (ITS) and the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE). His contributions and mentorship were highly valued, and he will be greatly missed.

12. Close of AGM

With no further business, the meeting was formally closed at 12:38 PM.